Veterans Day

Today, a 90 year-old widow of a WWII veteran wept as she recited this poem to her daughter when asked if she knew it was Veterans Day.

The Soldier

By Rupert Brooke

If I should die, think only this of me:
That there’s some corner of a foreign field
That is for ever England. There shall be
In that rich earth a richer dust concealed;
A dust whom England bore, shaped, made aware,
Gave, once, her flowers to love, her ways to roam,
A body of England’s, breathing English air,
Washed by the rivers, blest by suns of home.

And think, this heart, all evil shed away,
A pulse in the eternal mind, no less
Gives somewhere back the thoughts by England given;
Her sights and sounds; dreams happy as her day;
And laughter, learnt of friends; and gentleness,
In hearts at peace, under an English heaven.

4 comments

  1. Myra,
    GP Cox here. Just to refresh your memory, I know you and your family have been very busy and Congratulations! – I have the Pacific Paratrooper blog and you kindly published my father’s letter ‘Jungle Juice’ in your book.
    I am writing to request your permission to use one of the other stories in the book as a post in my site. ‘Delmer R. Beam, Cpl.’ which begins on page 112. There has been even more word going around about PTSD, both past and present wars, plus I know a veteran who went through the shock treatments, and I feel Mr. Beam’s story may help a few of my readers who are also dealing with it.
    When you have the chance, you may send your reply by either my website comments or my email.
    Thanking you, in advance, for your time,
    GP Cox

    Like

      1. Thank you very much. I’m a s-l-o-w typist, but I’ll get started on it this afternoon. This much appreciated.
        And once again – I’m thrilled with the news of your forthcoming award – Congratulations to your entire family for what you’ve accomplished!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment